Therapist Thursdays….Spotlighting the OT’s behind Fundanoodle

Fundanoodle were created with two Occupational Therapists.  The next two Therapist Thursday’s we are going to do a little Question and Answer with Amy and Michelle in honor of National Occupational Therapy Month!  Today we start with Amy.  Amy is employed by Milestone Therapy.  She has also recieved Sensory Integration and Praxis Test certification and taken several classes in myofascial release.

amyfamilypic

1.  Why did you decide to enter the occupational therapy profession?  What appealed to you? 

After visiting Hemby’s Children Hospital when I was in middle school, I knew I wanted to work with children with special needs.  At that point, I was undecided between occupational and physical therapy.  A dear friend, who was both an occupational and physical therapist encouraged me to go the occupational therapy route.  I made a decision as a high school student I wanted to be a pediatric occupational therapist and have not looked back since!
 
2.  Tell a short story about one of your favorite kids/families/etc.
I have so many favorite kids, it is hard to choose just one!  Mason is one of the kids that I am the most proud of his accomplishments!  I started treating Mason when he was 6 months old, and he was unable to do anything except lie on the floor.  At almost 4 years old, Mason is now walking with one hand held, feeding himself, playing with toys, and beginning to ride an adapted tricycle.  Mason’s smile and his parents patience and love make my job all the worth it!
 
3.  What is one of your favorite therapy techniques you seem to always find yourself doing with your clients?
While I would not call this a specific technique, I always find myself playing with my clients.  I love to get down on their level and know their likes and interests.  Seeing life through the eyes of a child is a great way to spend my day!
 
4.  What is one of the most challenging aspects of your job?
One of the most challenging aspects of my job is seeing a family system that is struggling because of a child with special needs.  Raising a child is difficult task, but raising a child with special needs takes a special person.  My heart goes out to these families and the daily struggles they face.  I know that occupational therapy is often the breath of fresh air for these families, and sometimes you feel like that one hour a week is just not enough for the parents. 

5.  Tell me about your family….husband, kids, parents/siblings, anything you find that would be neat to share with the Fundanoodle audience.
I have been married to my husband since October 2007 and our son was born on our third wedding anniversary.  Brinton (2) and Adele (7 months) are the love and joy in our lives, and they fill us with laughter and entertainment.  We often wonder what we did before kids!  We also like to keep it entertaining with 4 dogs!  While our days are busy and often our nights are sleepless, we wouldn’t change it for the world!  I also have a sister, who lives in Delaware with her husband and 4 month old daughter, Aspen.  I am fortunate to have my parents and my husband’s parents both in Charlotte, who love to help with the grandkids!  We love to share meals together the week and are looking forward to boating when the weather warms up. 
 
6.  What is a funny fact about you that you don’t mind sharing with everyone?
I don’t have too many secrets or interest tidbits, but I have learned, as a mom that I am doing things I said I would never do!

 

Leave a Reply

